Firefox 3.6 Won’t Preview from Dreamweaver Mac

by James Cook on February 17, 2010

I'd read a number of reports that people were having issues previewing files from Dreamweaver in Firefox 3.6 on Macs but I hand't had the issue even though I've been running FF 3.6 for a while. But suddenly today it started happening to me as well. The only solution I found (which wasn't very satisfactory) was to DOWNGRADE from Firefox 3.6 to 3.5.8.

To downgrade all you have to do is:

1. Delete FF 3.6 from your Applications folder.
2. Download FF 3.5.8 from http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-older.html (choose the appropriate language version)
3. Follow the direction to install Firefox.

Don't worry all your settings and bookmarks should remain intact.

Hopefully Adobe or Mozilla will address this but given Adobe's history and what I've read online from Mozilla, I'm not holding my breath.

simon December 14, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Same for me; annoying and Dreamweaver can’t preview with it’s stablemate “SeaMonkey 2” as well. It’s a Mozilla thing.

Nate May 7, 2010 at 12:40 pm

So annoying and stupid. What is with FF being all into compliance and yet they always screw something random up with every new release? A few years ago, their latest “upgrade” was so horrific people all over were complaining about the slowness and bugginess. I stopped using it for a year, actually..

Want to know my solution? I preview from Dreamweaver in Safari and then I right-click the file on my hard drive and say “Open with Firefox.” I’m not going to downgrade to 3.5.8 since the difference is minimal compared to Safari.

Vince March 25, 2010 at 9:41 pm

Thanks for the tip guys ! I started having the problem 2 days ago, but I wasn’t sure if it was FF or DW. Or me !

Tim March 9, 2010 at 6:50 am

I am the Art Director of a design firm and use Dreamweaver CS4 all the time. I started having this problem with 3.6 shortly after I updated Mozilla, as well. You can also downgrade your software to 3.5.8 and it works, too.

jcook March 9, 2010 at 7:27 am

3.5.8 was released after this post was written. I’ve now edited the post to reflect that. Thanks for the update.

sam November 23, 2010 at 1:46 am

yep same problem running off a mac…all i can say is thank heavens for the www it makes solving issues like these a cinch…..at least i found out pretty quickly that it wasn’t me!! yeah opening it up manually is a long winded way to have to preview in mozilla without downgrading….i’m surprised they haven’t yet picked up on this issue.

Persistant December 8, 2011 at 5:31 pm

This has an easy fix — Dreamweaver just doesn’t LIKE the name Foxfire. After a heapin’ helpin’ of frustration, I named mine Erifxof (foxfire backwards) in the “Dreamweaver, Preferences, Preview in Browser,” and gave it the backwards name, but CHOSE Firefox from my list of applications. Now both browser and software are happy! Seems like someone played a prank…

dwcourse December 8, 2011 at 6:06 pm

@Persistant, I appreciate the tip but it didn’t work for me. I’m leaving it here in case it will work for others though. I suspect most folks have moved on from FF3 by now. In any case, multiple versions of Firefox don’t really play that well together on the same Mac.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

Home | Make Contact